University of Minnesota Extension

Extension is expanding its online education and resources while in-person events and classes are canceled.

Extension > Extension in your Community > Beltrami > 4-H > Articles > 2019 Connie Simenson-DeKrey Scholarship Winners

print icon email icon share icon

2019 Connie Simenson-DeKrey Scholarship Winners


Beltrami County 4-H announces the recipients of the Connie Simenson-DeKrey Scholarship.  The two members from the Open Range Ropers which received awards were Jamilee Schocker and Erica Winters.  They will each receive $1,000 towards their studies at Bemidji State University.

This scholarship was set up as a memorial endowment fund to honor past Extension Educator, Connie Simenson-DeKrey, and her dedication to Extension programming, youth and families in Beltrami County and beyond.  Connie’s husband Don DeKrey established this fund in conjunction with the Bemidji State University Foundation to honor Connie’s past work and to support the future efforts of active Beltrami 4-H youth with plans to attend BSU.

Scholarships are awarded based on academic and 4-H resume.  Applicants shared their 4-H story, including the life skills learned through their 4-H experiences.